We have the following awards that we give out at our annual conference. If you would like to nominate someone for the awards, please email the people listed below associated with that prize.

Julien Mezey Dissertation Award

The Association for the Study of Law, Culture and the Humanities invites submissions for the 2015 Julien Mezey Dissertation Award. This annual prize is awarded to the dissertation that most promises to enrich and advance interdisciplinary scholarship at the intersection of law, culture and the humanities. The award will be presented at the Association's Annual Conference, hosted by the Georgetown University Law Centre on March 6-7, 2015.

The Association seeks the submission of outstanding work from a wide variety of perspectives, including but not limited to law and cultural studies, legal hermeneutics and rhetoric, law and literature, law and psychoanalysis, law and visual studies, legal history, legal theory and jurisprudence. Scholars completing humanities-oriented dissertations in SJD and related programs, as well as those earning PhDs, are encouraged to submit their work. Applicants eligible for the 2015 award must have defended their dissertations successfully between September 1, 2013 and August 31, 2014.

The deadline for nominations for the 2015 award is November 15, 2014. On or before that date, each nominee must submit the following:

1) a letter by the nominee detailing the genesis, goal, and contribution of the dissertation;
2) a letter of support from a faculty member familiar with the work;
3) an abstract, outline, and selected chapter of the dissertation;
4) contact information for the nominee.

All materials and any questions should be sent to:
Dr. Keally D McBride at kdmcbride@usfca.edu

Award finalists will be notified as soon as possible. Finalists must then submit an electronic version of the entire dissertation. The winner will be determined by early February and invited to the 2015 ASLCH annual meeting in Washington. ASLCH will pay travel and lodging costs.

Congratulations to the 2014 winner, Stacy Douglas, who completed her Ph.D. titled "Curating Community: Museums, Constitutionalism, and the Taming of the Political" at Kent Law School (UK) and is now an Assistant Professor of Law and Legal Studies at Carleton University in Canada.

Previous Julien Mezey Dissertation Award Winners

The Austin Sarat Award

We are pleased to announce the Austin Sarat Award, a prize that will be offered to a graduate student for a paper presented at the ASLCH annual conference. We are looking for papers that represent excellence in interdisciplinary thought, research and writing in the field of law, culture, and the humanities. Although presentation of the paper at the annual conference is required to be eligible, the award winner will be chosen based upon finished papers submitted after the annual conference.

Please remember all of the wonderful papers you heard presented by graduate students at this year's conference in Virginia, and forward your nominations to Dr. Susan Schmeiser at Susan.Schmeiser@law.uconn.edu. Please submit your nominations by 16 May 2014. If you are not sure that the paper was presented by a graduate student, email and we can check.

Once we have received nominations, authors will be contacted for their papers. Please feel free to nominate your own paper!

Congratulations to the 2013 winner, Alexandra Havrylyshyn, who is a third-year Ph.D. student in Jurisprudence and Social Policy at the University of California, Berkeley. Her focus is on legal history, and her interests range from law and sovereignty in the French Atlantic to the development of international criminal law, particularly in the 20th century. She holds a Master's in History from McGill University (Dean's Honour List), and is a recipient of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) doctoral award.

James Boyd White Award

With this award we recognize and honor the originality and excellence of individual contributions to the field, and acknowledge our indebtedness to these individuals for their commitment to the interdisciplinary study of law, culture and the humanities.

Congratulations to the 2014 winner, Costas Douzinas, who is Professor of Law, Pro-Vice Master of International Links, and Director of the Birkbeck Insitute of the Humanities at the University of London. Costas is author of several books in the areas of human rights, political philosophy, and legal aesthetics, as well as regular contributor to the Guardian and other public forums. For more on Costas's contributions to the field: http://www.bbk.ac.uk/law/our-staff/ft-academic/douzinas

Previous James Boyd White Award Winners