Joshua N. Lief L'88
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

Joshua N. Lief L'88

Joshua N. LiefJOSHUA N. LIEF graduated from the State University of New York at Albany in 1985, and went on to earn his Juris Doctor, magna cum laude, from Syracuse University College of Law in 1988. While at the College of Law, Mr. Lief was an Associate Editor of the Syracuse Law Review, was the overall winner of the Moot Court Competition (1988) and was inducted into the Order of the Coif.

Mr. Lief is currently a Senior Assistant Attorney General and Section Chief of the Financial Law and Government Support Section in the Office of the Virginia Attorney General. In this position he oversees and manages a section that provides legal counsel and support to agencies throughout Virginia state government, including the Departments of Agriculture, Tourism, Taxation, Treasury, Labor and Industry, Housing and Community Development and Economic Development. In addition to his supervisory duties, Mr. Lief maintains an active case load and serves as lead counsel to over twenty state agencies and boards. He represents the Commonwealth's interests in a wide range of legal matters, including ongoing litigation, real property transactions, employment matters and interactions with the federal government. This represents a return to the Office of the Attorney General for Mr. Lief, as he also served as an Assistant and Senior Assistant Attorney General from 1995-1998 in both the Consumer and Antitrust, and the Utilities and Insurance Sections. Mr. Lief's public service career also includes appointment to the Governor of Virginia's cabinet, as Deputy Secretary and then Secretary of Commerce and Trade, from 1998-2002.

 Prior to his current position, Mr. Lief served as the General Manager and General Counsel for Virginia International Raceway (VIR), a position he held for five years. In that role he was responsible for the day-to-day operations of a world-class motorsports facility that is consistently ranked as one of the best in North America. The VIR complex encompasses a hotel, restaurants, a country club, skeet ranges and at its cornerstone is the famed 3.27 mile natural terrain road course first opened in 1957. Mr. Lief also served as lead counsel for the VIR family of companies and supervised outside counsel when required.

Mr. Lief began his legal career first as a summer associate and later as an attorney with the New York City office of Kaye Scholer, and later with the Richmond, Virginia office of McGuire Woods, where his practice focused on commercial litigation. In addition to his busy professional duties, Mr. Lief has previously served as a member of the Board of Visitors for Virginia State University and a Board Member of the Virginia Coalfield Economic Development Authority. He currently devotes a portion of his time to community outreach, including volunteering with Habitat for Humanity.

Relevant Links:

Attorney General of Virginia
Virginia International Raceway
Habitat for Humanity
McGuire Woods LLP
Kaye Scholer

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83