Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

Michael Anthony Bottar L'03

Michael Anthony Bottar L'03Michael Anthony Bottar is a partner with Bottar Leone, PLLC, a Syracuse-based law firm established in 1983. Mr. Bottar's practice is limited to the prosecution of medical malpractice, birth injury, wrongful death, product liability, and severe personal injury actions in all New York State and Federal courts, with an emphasis on claims involving brain and nerve injuries, misdiagnosis, unsafe jobsites, common carrier accidents, and defective medical devices.

Mr. Bottar is a graduate of Colgate University, (B.A., 2000) and a summa cum laude graduate of Syracuse University College of Law (J.D., 2003), where he is an adjunct professor and author of the Civil Practice chapter of the Syracuse Law Review's Survey of New York Law.

Mr. Bottar is the Upstate Chair for the Young Lawyer's Committee of the New York State Academy of Trial Lawyers. He also sits on the Board of Directors of the New York State Academy of Trial Lawyers, and the Syracuse University Law Alumni Association. He is a life member of the Million Dollar Advocates Forum, and is a member of the Onondaga County Bar Association, New York State Bar Association, Northern District of New York Federal Court Bar Association, Central New York Women's Bar Association, American Bar Association, the American Association for Justice, and the Association of Plaintiff Interstate Trucking Lawyers of America.

While at the College of Law, Mr. Bottar served as executive editor of the Syracuse Law Review. Mr. Bottar was a member and competition co-director of the Syracuse University College of Law Moot Court Honor Society, was inducted into the Order of the Coif, the Order of Barristers and the Justinian Honorary Law Society, and received the law school's R.W. Miller Trial Advocacy Award, the R.M. Anderson Publication Award, and the Law Review's Distinguished Service Award.

Mr. Bottar is active in the Syracuse community. He is a past-member of the Board of Directors of Contact Community Services, and the Advisory Board of the Central New York Chapter of the Arthritis Foundation. Mr. Bottar has also devoted considerable time to pro bono counsel through Inmotion, Inc., the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, and Human Rights First - which recognized him in 2005 as part of a team of attorneys that secured political asylum for a Sierra Leonian refugee.

Mr. Bottar began his legal career as a litigation associate with the New York City office of White & Case, LLP. immediately prior to joining Bottar Leone, PLLC, Mr. Bottar was a litigation associate with the Syracuse office of Bond, Schoeneck & King, PLLC.

Relevant Links:

Bottar Leone PLLC
Syracuse University Law Alumni Association
New York State Academy of Trial Lawyers
Onondaga County Bar Association
Association of Plaintiff Internstate Trucking Lawyers of America

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83