Susan R. Horn L'74
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

Susan R. Horn L'74

Susan HornSUSAN R. HORN graduated from Brooklyn College of the City University of New York in 1971, and earned her Juris Doctor from Syracuse University College of Law in 1974.  As a law student, she helped found the Prisoners' Rights Project, worked on the Attica Brothers Legal Defense and was a member of the Women's Law Caucus.

Ms. Horn has been the President & CEO of the Hiscock Legal Aid Society since 1990. She previously served as a Senior and Staff Attorney at the Society. In addition to being a civil legal services provider, the Hiscock Legal Aid Society is the primary provider of mandated representation in Onondaga County to adults in Family Court and in criminal and Family Court appeals and parole revocation and extradition cases. From 1974 to 2004, the Society was the primary provider of misdemeanor criminal defense in Syracuse City Court.

Ms. Horn began her career as a Staff Attorney with Onondaga Neighborhood Legal Services (now Legal Services of Central New York) and was a partner in the law firms of Horn, Heins, Finkelstein & Pezzulo and Heath, Horn & Rosenthal, where she practiced criminal, civil and family law.  While in private practice, Ms. Horn did pro bono work for protesters at the Seneca Women's Peace Encampment, on prisoners' rights cases and on political asylum cases for Haitian refugees, among other pro bono work.  She currently volunteers with the Central NY Women's Bar Association's Monday Night Clinic at Vera House, providing legal advice to domestic violence victims.

In addition, Ms. Horn serves the community by serving as a member of the Boards of Directors of the Center for Community Alternatives and the New York State Defenders Association.  She also serves on Onondaga County's Criminal Justice Advisory Board and several of the New York State Bar Association Committees, including:  Committee on Legal Aid; Committee to Ensure Quality of Mandated Representation; Committee on LGBT People and the Law; and the Task Force on Family Court.  She previously served on the Boards of the Onondaga County Bar Association, the Onondaga Citizens League, SAGE/Upstate and Planned Parenthood of the Rochester/Syracuse Region.  Ms. Horn has also served on the Syracuse Community Development Advisory Committee and is a graduate of the Leadership Greater Syracuse program.  Most recently, in 2010, Ms. Horn was the recipient of the first Faith Seidenberg Award for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Legal Advocacy from the Central New York chapter of the New York Civil Liberties Union.

Relevant Links:

New York State Defenders Association

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83