John W. Ryan L'85
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn Foursquare

John W. Ryan L'85

John RyanJOHN W. RYAN received his B.A. in chemistry from Bucknell University in 1981, and his J.D. from Syracuse University College of Law in 1985. During law school, he was a member of the College of Law senate for three years, a graduate research assistant for Professor Robert Rabin, and a devoted fan of the Syracuse Orange basketball team. In 1988 he obtained his LL.M. in patent & trade regulation from George Washington University. While working toward his LL.M. degree, he interned for Judge (later Chief Judge) Helen W. Nies at the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

Currently, Mr. Ryan is a partner and co-chair of the Intellectual Property Group of the law firm of Sullivan & Worcester, LLP with his office in Washington, D.C. His practice focuses on the chemical, biotechnology, medical device, and pharmaceutical industries although he has represented clients on a variety of other technologies. His clients have varied from those among the Fortune 100 to small, start-up companies. Early in his career, after spending five years working on patent litigations, Mr. Ryan was recruited by the founder of Amgen to become the vice president and chief patent counsel for IGEN International, Inc. IGEN was subsequently acquired by the Swiss Pharmaceutical giant, F. Hoffman La Roche, for approximately $1.4 billion dollars.

Mr. Ryan has hands-on experience in the creation and management of patent portfolios and also the day-to-day issues of in-house positions. He has more than twenty years of law firm and in-house experience and has practiced in both the litigation and transactional side of intellectual property, including counseling and opinion work, freedom-to-operate opinions, licensing, portfolio management and valuation, and patent preparation and prosecution. Mr. Ryan has previously held partner positions at the Washington, D.C. offices of Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering, where he headed the Patent Practice, as well as Dorsey & Whitney, LLP, where he co-chaired the Intellectual Property Practice. He is admitted to practice in New York, Pennsylvania and the District of Columbia, as well as in numerous U.S. District Courts, the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and before the United States Supreme Court.

Mr. Ryan has been an adjunct professor at Albany Law School, where he taught courses on the licensing of intellectual property. He also received a Trustees Tuition Scholarship to take graduate courses in biochemistry at Albany Medical College. He publishes and speaks frequently in the areas of intellectual property and patent litigation, and was recognized by Chambers USA: Leading Lawyer in Intellectual Property in 2008, 2009 and again in 2010. Mr. Ryan has a Martindale-Hubbell Peer Review Rating of AV® Preeminent™ 5 out of 5 and meets the Very High Criteria of General Ethical Standards. Mr. Ryan is a member of the American Intellectual Property Law Association and is Co-Chair of the Legislative Oversight Committee of the New York Intellectual Property Law Association.

Mr. Ryan resides with his wife, Jacqueline, in McLean, Virginia where he has been involved in coaching their kids’ local (Vienna) Little League baseball and basketball teams.

Relevant Links: 

Sullivan & Worcester, LLP

American Intellectual Property Law Association

New York Intellectual Property Law Association

Alumni Spotlights


Frank Carbonetti L'99
Angela R. Cruz L'06
Aris Evia L'99
David J. Efron L'93
Catherine Gale L'78
Scott W. Hackwelder L'04
Kristoffer (Kris) Kiefer L'05
Mary C. King L'04
John J. Leo III L'03
Cheryl Pinarchick L'95
Kate M. Powers L'02
Kevin Saunders L'97
Janine A. Scott L'97
William Tansey L'03
Charles Taylor L'96


David W. Baker L'05
Jae H. Cho L'04
Lisa A. Coppola L'89
Danette Edwards L'02
Noah J. Garber L'08
Roy S. Gutterman L'00
Adam J. Katz L'04
Richard E. Mitchell L'95
Julie Morse L'05
Frederick J.M. Price L'03
Kelli Provenzano Cain L'06
David M. Tang L'05
Michael P. Votto L'03
Krista Witanowski L'02


Michael Anthony Bottar L'03
James T. Dehn L'98
Maya M. Eckstein L.95
Seth Eichenholtz L'02
Susan R. Horn L'74
Cynthia Kearley L'01
Michael T. Maroney L'00
Carey Ng L'02


Dana Leccese Babbin L'96
Henry J. Ford, Jr. L'02
Zabrina Jenkins L'00
Stephanie Jones L'03
Barker C. Keith L'97
Tiffany H. Lee L'97
Joshua N. Lief L'88
Timothy M. Meehan L'96
Timothy Paul L'84
Gerard 'Rod' Saggese III L'99
MaryTeresa Soltis L'03
Ruchi Thaker L'02
Nathan Wheatley L'02


Stewart D. Aaron L'83
Robert J. Anello L'80
Eddie Baba L'03
Adam Leitman Bailey L'95
Scott Charney L'88
Alan Crain L'76
Andrew Dember L'79
Eric Eichenholtz '02
Virginia Grady L'83
Hon. William Q. Hayes L'83
Hon. Deborah H. Karalunas L'82
Jaye B. Martin L'79
George R. McGuire L'96
Benita Miller L'96
Eileen Millett L'74
Matthew Moore L'95
Michael Riley L'03
John W. Ryan L'85
Howard Siegel L'70
Katie Strangis L'03
Ellen Zimiles L'83